Home >  About Us >  Leadership 

About Us


The leaders of Montefiore Medical Center exhibit a deep knowledge of their professions and of the organization. With an unwavering dedication to Montefiore's mission, vision and values, our executives and clinical chairs have transformed the state of healthcare in order to benefit patients in the New York metropolitan region and around the globe.

Exhibiting and upholding the highest standards of excellence, they inspire their teams and associates to continually advance Montefiore and medicine. Their strategic vision and implementation have resulted in Montefiore's growth as a leading academic medical center and an integrated healthcare delivery system.

President and Chief Executive Officer, Montefiore Medicine

Steven M. Safyer, MD

Steven M. Safyer, MD, is President and Chief Executive Officer of Montefiore Medicine. Montefiore Medicine includes Montefiore Health System, one of New York’s premier academic health systems and the Albert Einstein College of Medicine. An accomplished clinician, physician leader, and educator, Dr. Safyer has been recognized by Modern Healthcare on their lists of the “Most Influential People in Healthcare” and “Most Influential Physician Executives and Leaders.” He also was inducted into the 2018 Crain’s New York Business Hall of Fame.

Prior to being appointed President and CEO of Montefiore in 2008, he held a variety of increasingly senior leadership roles at Montefiore, including Senior Vice President and Chief Medical Officer from 1998 until 2008. Under his leadership, Montefiore significantly expanded the breadth and depth of its clinical care services. It is now composed of a network of 11 hospitals, including the Children’s Hospital at Montefiore and Burke Rehabilitation, plus more than 200 ambulatory care centers in the Bronx and the Hudson Valley.

Read more.

President, Montefiore Health System

Philip O. Ozuah, MD, PhD

Philip O. Ozuah, MD, PhD

Dr. Ozuah is President of Montefiore Health System. A nationally recognized physician, leader, executive, researcher, teacher and author, Dr. Ozuah completed his residency in pediatrics at Montefiore. In addition to his medical degree, he also holds a PhD in Educational Leadership and Administration. Most recently, Dr. Ozuah served as Chief Operating Officer of Montefiore. Prior to that, he held the positions of Professor and University Chairman of Pediatrics at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Physician-in-Chief of the Children's Hospital at Montefiore (CHAM).

As the leader of CHAM and the Department of Pediatrics, he expanded access for underserved communities, recruited and cultivated outstanding talent, advanced programs of excellence, fostered innovations in medical education, quadrupled specialty case volumes, quadrupled National Institutes of Health (NIH) funding, enhanced CHAM's regional and national reputation, and improved financial and operational performance. Under his leadership, the Department of Pediatrics became a Top-20 ranked NIH-funded department, and CHAM became one of "America's Best Children's Hospitals."

He is also Professor of Pediatrics and Professor of Epidemiology and Population Health at Einstein.

Executive Leadership

  Blye Colleen

Colleen M. Blye
Executive Vice President
Chief Financial Officer

Lynn Richmond, NP Lynn Richmond, NP
Executive Vice President
Chief Strategy Officer

Gordon F. Tomaselli, MD
Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer
The Marilyn and Stanley M. Katz Dean, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

Alfredo Cabrera Alfredo Cabrera
System Senior Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer
  Susan Green-Lorenzen, RN
System Senior Vice President – Operations
  Andrew Racine, MD, PhD
System Senior Vice President & Chief Medical Officer
  Christopher S. Panczner
Senior Vice President & General Counsel

Edward Pfleging, PE
Senior Vice President - Facilities and Real Estate


Stephen Rosenthal
Senior Vice President – Population Health Management


Peter P. Semczuk, DDS, MPH
Senior Vice President & Executive Director, Moses and Wakefield Campuses


Jack Wolf
Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer

Departmental Chairs

  Jonathan E. Alpert, MD, PhD
Dorothy and Marty Silverman Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Matthew Bartels, MD Matthew N. Bartels, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
  Roy Chuck, MD Roy Chuck, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Ophthalmology
  Neil J. Cobelli, MD
Chair, Department of Orthopedics
  Ellise Delphin, MD, MPH
Chair, Department of Anesthesiology
  Emad Eskandar, MD
Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery
Marvin P. Fried, MD
Chair, Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery
  E. John Gallagher, MD
Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
Daphne T. Hsu, MD 
Interim Chair, Pediatrics
Physician - in - Chief, CHAM
  Shalom Kalnicki, MD
Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
  Richard A. Kraut, DDS
Chair, Department of Dentistry
  Mark F. Mehler, MD
Chair, Department of Neurology
  Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBA
Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health
  Robert E. Michler, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery 
Chair, Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
  Roman Perez-Soler, MD
Chair, Department of Oncology
  Michael B. Prystowsky, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Pathology
  Thomas Rohan, MD
Chair, Department of Epidemiology & Population Health
Mark Schoenberg, MD Mark Schoenberg, MD
Chair, Department of Urology
  Peter Selwyn, MD
Chair, Department of Family and Social Medicine

Yaron Tomer, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine

  Judy Yee, MD
Chair, Department of Radiology