Mission Vision and Values | History and Milestones | Commitment to the Community
Leadership | Board of Trustees | Physicians | Nursing Staff | Ways to Give


The leaders of Montefiore Medical Center exhibit a deep knowledge of their professions and of the organization. With an unwavering dedication to Montefiore's mission, vision and values, our executives and clinical chairs have transformed the state of healthcare in order to benefit patients in the New York metropolitan region and around the globe.

Exhibiting and upholding the highest standards of excellence, they inspire their teams and associates to continually advance Montefiore and medicine. Their strategic vision and implementation have resulted in Montefiore's growth as a leading academic medical center and an integrated healthcare delivery system.

President and Chief Executive Officer, Montefiore Medicine

Philip O. Ozuah, MD, PhD

Philip O. Ozuah, MD, PhD

Dr. Ozuah is the President and CEO of Montefiore Medicine, the umbrella organization for Montefiore Health System and Albert Einstein College of Medicine. A nationally recognized physician, leader, executive, researcher, teacher and author, Dr. Ozuah previously served as President of Montefiore Health System. A National Institutes of Health (NIH)–funded researcher and award-winning educator, he also served as Professor and University Chairman of Pediatrics at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Physician-in-Chief of Children’s Hospital at Montefiore (CHAM).

In these roles, Dr. Ozuah expanded access for underserved communities, recruited and cultivated outstanding talent, advanced programs of excellence, fostered innovations in medical education, and improved financial and operational performance by integrating care across a rapidly growing and evolving Montefiore system that sees over six million patient interactions a year. Under his leadership, Montefiore Health System’s specialties ranked in the top 1 percent of the nation’s hospitals, and CHAM was recognized as one of “America’s Best Children’s Hospitals” according to U.S. News & World Report.

Dr. Ozuah has been recognized locally and nationally for excellence in teaching and patient care, including as an inductee into the Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society and a two-time recipient of the Academic Pediatric Association’s prestigious Helfer Award for Innovation in Medical Education. Along with his various awards for teaching and clinical excellence, Dr. Ozuah has also been recognized by Modern Healthcare as one of the “Top 25 COOs in Healthcare.”

Dr. Ozuah earned his medical degree from the University of Ibadan, Nigeria, a Master’s Degree in Education from the University of Southern California and a PhD in Educational Leadership and Administration from the University of Nebraska–Lincoln. He completed his Pediatric Internship and Residency at Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Montefiore, and his Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Medical Education at the University of Southern California School of Medicine.

Executive Leadership

  Colleen M. Blye

Colleen M. Blye
Executive Vice President
Chief Financial Officer

Gordon F. Tomaselli, MD

Gordon F. Tomaselli, MD
Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer, Montefiore Medicine
The Marilyn and Stanley M. Katz Dean, Albert Einstein College of Medicine

  Susan Green-Lorenzen, RN Susan Green-Lorenzen, RN
System Senior Vice President – Operations
Christopher S. Panczner Christopher S. Panczner
System Senior Vice President and Chief Legal Officer
  Andrew D. Racine, MD, PhD Andrew D. Racine, MD, PhD
System Senior Vice President & Chief Medical Officer
Executive Director, Montefiore Medical Group
Marcos A. Crespo

Marcos A. Crespo
Senior Vice President - Community Affairs

Joseph D'Amica
Joseph D’Amico
Senior Vice President and Chief Security Officer

Ruben Diaz, Jr.
Senior Vice President - Strategic Initiatives

Kathleen Kearns

Kathleen Kearns
Senior Vice President - Development and Chief Philanthropy Officer

Gloria Kenny

Gloria Kenny
Senior Vice President & Chief Human Resources Officer

  Edward Pfleging, PE

Edward Pfleging, PE
Senior Vice President - Facilities and Real Estate

  Stephen Rosenthal, MBA

Stephen Rosenthal, MBA
Senior Vice President – Population Health Management

  Peter P. Semczuk, DDS, MPH

Peter P. Semczuk, DDS, MPH
Senior Vice President Clinical Services and Executive Director, Moses Campus

Joe Solmonese

Joe Solmonese
Senior Vice President - Government Relations and Strategic Communication

  Jack Wolf

Jack Wolf
Senior Vice President & Chief Information Officer

Departmental Chairs

  Jonathan E. Alpert, MD, PhD Jonathan E. Alpert, MD, PhD
Dorothy and Marty Silverman Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Matthew N. Bartels, MD, MPH Matthew N. Bartels, MD, MPH
Arthur S. Abramson Chair, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Michael D. Cabana, MD Michael D. Cabana, MD
Physician-in-Chief, Children's Hospital at Montefiore
Professor and Michael I. Cohen, MD University Chair of Pediatrics, Montefiore and Einstein
Edward Chu, MD, MMS Edward Chu, MD, MMS
Interim Chair, Department of Oncology
  Roy Chuck, MD, PhD Roy Chuck, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Ophthalmology
  Neil J. Cobelli, MD Neil J. Cobelli, MD
Chair, Department of Orthopedics
Matthias Eikermann, MD, PhD

Matthias Eikermann, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Anesthesiology

  Emad Eskandar, MD Emad Eskandar, MD
Chair, Department of Neurological Surgery
  David Esses, MD David Esses, MD
Interim Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine
  Shalom Kalnicki, MD Shalom Kalnicki, MD
Chair, Department of Radiation Oncology
  Mark F. Mehler, MD Mark F. Mehler, MD
Chair, Department of Neurology
  Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBA Sharmila K. Makhija, MD, MBA
Chair, Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology and Women's Health
  Robert E. Michler, MD Robert E. Michler, MD
Chair, Department of Surgery 
Chair, Department of Cardiovascular and Thoracic Surgery
  Michael B. Prystowsky, MD, PhD Michael B. Prystowsky, MD, PhD
Chair, Department of Pathology
  Thomas Rohan, MBBS, PhD, DHSc Thomas Rohan, MBBS, PhD, DHSc
Chair, Department of Epidemiology & Population Health
Mark Schoenberg, MD Mark Schoenberg, MD
Chair, Department of Urology
  Peter Selwyn, MD Peter Selwyn, MD
Chair, Department of Family and Social Medicine
Richard Smith, MD

Richard Smith, MD
Chair, Department of Otorhinolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery

Yaron Tomer, MD

Yaron Tomer, MD
Chair, Department of Medicine

  Judy Yee, MD Judy Yee, MD
Chair, Department of Radiology